What's new

How humid is too humid?

Rating - 100%
43   0   0
:help: Hello Ron I'm new to BOTL and I have a few questions about my Humidor. I live on the Central Coast of California and we've had a lot of rain the past few weeks and the humidity has been upwards of 90 percent. I check my humi weekly and I discovered that it reached 80 on the gauge. Since I have taken the moisture element out of the Humi but have still had trouble keeping it at 70. Will this be a big problem for my smokes? If it is what can I do to try to keep my smokes in good condition? The Humidor is a small 20-25 cigar box. Thanks a million!

Docbp87

Smoke Into Oblivion
Rating - 100%
23   0   0
Are you using an actual humidor? Or just a cigar box? Because a cigar box will not work, especially when you get extreme humidity conditions like those. You need something with a good seal. Beads or Boveda packs will do what you need also, because they will both release, and absorb humidity into/from the air in order to maintain the proper desired RH%.

danthebugman

BoM Nov '10
Rating - 100%
124   0   0
What are you using to regulate your humidity? If you're not using beads, I'd recommend it. They'll not only release humidity, but absorb excess. I've had problems keeping mine down in the summer, but the beads have helped. 80% is definitely pretty high and the cigars will probably not smoke as well. 70% is the usual number tossed about, but a lot of guys like it lower. I personally try for 65-68%.

Dan

Rating - 100%
43   0   0
Yes it's a humidor from Don Salvatore. I am using the gel sticks for humidity. This has never happened. I will look into those beads. Would Famous carry something like that?

Rating - 100%
43   0   0
I am using the gel sticks. I've never had this problem but then again it I didn't have a humidor last winter. Thanks and I will look into those beads. They sound perfect. Can I use them in combo with the gel or will they do on their own?

The EVP

The Bully
Rating - 100%
28   0   0