What's new

Humidification Woes...

Curmudgeon76

Robusto
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,

I'm new to the site, and am happy to have found an online community specializing in the pastime of cigar smoking. I was turned on to cigar smoking by my father, who taught me about the fundamentals of cigars, the different brands, wrappers, etc. While I'm sure I'd be considered a novice here, I do enjoy smoking a decent hand rolled cigar on a daily, or every other day basis.

I'm writing because I'm having a lot of trouble controlling the humidity in my humidor. I have read the humidfication FAQ and still have some questions. I have a glass-topped Montecristo Afrique humidor, and a 50 cigar Paradigm humidifier.

First off, let me start by saying my home is very dry. The typical RH in my house, as measured by a digital hygrometer, is around 37%. I try to keep the temperature constant (hard to do in New England!) around 62-64 degrees. The hygrometer is reading the temp in my humidor as 65 degrees.

I began by soaking by humidifier in distilled water for about 10-15 minutes, just covering the openings on the side of the humidifer, to saturate it. After placing it in the humidor, I let it sit for several hours and then checked it: the RH was approximately 44 percent. Additionally, as the days go by, the RH in the box seems to drop.

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I have only used distilled water, not 50/50 solution but I was under the impression the distilled water was adequate by itself. My farther has a different humidor, yet the same humidifier, and the RH is also WAY below what it should be.

Any one have any suggestions on how I can improve the situation? From what I've read about the Paradigm, it SHOULD keep the RH around 70 all the time, and only require refilling every couple months. Any input and advice would be appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Cheers,
Justin

Jwrussell

April '05 BoM
Rating - 100%
105   0   0