What's new

Humidor Question

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just got this little baby, how should I go about seasoning it? Should I let the humidifier do the job for a few weeks before adding my cigars or should I wipe it down? It is 24"D x 48"W x 80"H with a 2 gallon humidifier. Any suggestions?

Attachments

jkittle99

Josh
Rating - 100%
39   0   0
Im no expert, just a newb myself, but if it were me, I'd let the humi run for a couple weeks, get a nice steady humidity level (70% of whatever your target is) and then add in your media of choice (I expect you'll use beads or kitty litter or something in addition to the active humidification, right? Thats a very sweet looking cabinet, congrats!

Im sure you'll get a lot better advice than mine.

SDShark

BoM May '14
Rating - 100%
93   0   0
One of our fellow brothers Jason, started a thread on ways to start priming your humidor. It's been useful for me. Also some great comments from brothers after the article on what works for them. I hope it helps.
Nice cabinet! Just try and be patient with the process and good luck!

Here's the link: http://www.botl.org/threads/a-primer-on-humidification-and-seasoning.3277/

Rating - 100%
42   0   0
Don't wet anything down. Seasoning via direct application to the wood causes nothing but trouble. Get a working, trusted hygrometer in there and see where the RH is at. Then you can "season" . Some place a shot glass of distilled in there, or a sponge in a tray actually increases the surface and works faster from what I have seen. There are also Bodeva kits out there. Anything except don't wipe it down unless some here has better advice, hold off.

edit - yep SD Sharks' link above says it all.

Last edited:

Cigarth Vader

Official Jedi of BOTL.org
Retailer
Rating - 100%
99   0   0
I like to use the Boveda seasoning packs. They work well, but can take a while. If you don't have any of those, or don't want to shell out the cash for them...