What's new

long winded humidity question

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bit of a technical question here, but it can be summed up as the following:

Which is the more important, the actual amount of water vapor in the humidor, or the amount of water vapor relative to the maximum density the air can hold (actual humidity or RH)?

This question arose because I decided to make a spreadsheet that shows the equvalent RH over a change in temperature for a closed system. (As a newbie I can't put in the link to the spreadsheet, or a similar table found at bonitasmokeshop).

So after being all proud of myself, I noticed that while I started with a 70 degree/ 70% humidity in the morning, when it warmed up to 76 degrees in the afternoon, the humidity did not drop anywhere near 58% as the calculations suggest it should. It dropped instead to about 68%.

So either I made a mistake in the math (which is possible), or there is something else going on.

While I might have a math mistake, the table at bonitasmokeshop also makes a similar mistake.

The other possibility is that the humidor is not really a closed system. The humidifier is an active system (in this case beads). I am guessing that these beads are designed to be neutral at 70 degrees. When the temperature goes up, the vapor pressure goes down, which to the bead appears as dry air. So the beads start kicking out a bunch of moisture as a result of temperature alone, not due to a change in how dry the air is.

This means when it gets hot, the actual amount of wator vapor in the humidor goes way up, even though the displayed RH might drop a point or two. The concern is that the humidor is getting over humidified.

It comes down to how cigars absorb moisture, either due to absolute moisture content, or moisture vapor pressure.