What's new

Noob w/ Humi Question

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I am new to cigar smoking but have a good source of knowledge to draw from, my dad.

Unfortunately my father nearly passed away from a virus that attacked his heart and experienced heart failure.

Thankfully, he survived but can longer smoke cigars so ill never be able to enjoy them with him but he does offer good advice on humidors and so on but............

enough of the sob story heres my question.

I was told by the owner of my local tobacco b&m and my father that 70% humidity is optimal so I purchased a small humi that will hold roughly 30 cigars. I went about treating it the right way and so on and then tested the hygrometer.... it was 20 points off and is not self adjusting.

After reading all the good things on those heartfelt beads I decided to order some along with a digital hygrometer just to be safe, everyone says these beads are so good they dont need to be tested just monitored on when to add distilled water.

So I ordered the small size 70% round cigar humidity beads to stick underneath the lid of my humi since space is a bit of concern. But I see everyone seems to prefer the 65% beads and ive placed my order and im worried I may over saturate my stogies.

I only smoke on the weekends because its the only time I have to enjoy a full cigar because I have school in the mornings mon-thurs and I work after school and all day on friday.

Did I goof up on humidity level???? Or should it be fine. I know this old house I live in is a bit drafty but do not know how that could or would effect humidity in my humidor.

Just concerned because I just got my first order of Arturo Fuente Hemingway Best Seller cigars, they are amazing, and do not want to ruin the nice penny I paid for those.

Sorry for the long post gents, dont put me down too bad.