What's new

Pretty sure this isn't right

Rating - 100%
47   0   0
Hello all ... I'm in the process of seasoning a used humidor but I'm concerned the digital hygrometer is wrong. I did the initial rub down and soak yesterday and checked the hygrometer before I went to bed and it read 98% .... woke up this morning and its down to 89%. This can't be right can it? I live in Indiana so the humidity gets pretty rediculous in the summer but not now. Should i just go get a new digital bc this one is used? Or is this normal? I thought the humidity would start low and creep up not go the other way. Sorry for the stupid question but the local shop is closed today. Thanks in advance...

FireDoc83

Cigar Assassin
Rating - 98.5%
108   1   0
If you put it in when the walls were still damp it could be correct and the RH dropped once they started to dry out. Put some heartfelt beads in there and let is sit for several days and see if is stabilizes...

I am no expert but check around on BOTL and look at RonC's area. He is more the expert at RH. The link is below

Ask Ron

Rating - 100%
21   0   0
I would test the hygrometer using a boveda packet or salt test. Humidity will drop when the cedar absorbs the water,

Jwrussell

April '05 BoM
Rating - 100%
105   0   0
If you are asking whether or not your hygro is correct, you've already skipped a step in setting up your humidor. :wink:

Check out this link on seasoning your humidor.

IMHO, probably the most important step to be honest. You must, must, MUST calibrate your hygrometer FIRST. Check your local B&M shops and see if they carry Boveda packs. You are looking for a One Step Calibration Kit, but if they only have regular Boveda packs, pick one up and throw it into a ziplock or very tight fitting (small) container with your hygrometer and leave it sit for 24-36 hours. Then you'll know how far off your hygro is and can figure out what kind of reading you are really getting.