What's new

When I put an ice pack in coolidor, RH plummets

Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I'm going to apologize in advance because I'm pretty sure this issue has been talked about before

I'm new at this coolidor thing. I have a small 28 qt cooler with 3 cedar trays inside. I can keep the RH prefect, between 65%-70% by using dry kitty litter. The problem is that the temp is high, often between 75-80 degrees. When I put an ice pack inside to keep the temp down the RH falls to the 50's! What do I need to do??

Rating - 100%
43   0   0
I had the same problem and I found two different solutions thanks to a previous thread that I couldn't locate.
1. I took the fan out of my cooler and the RH didn't drop as much. A brother here stated that you get condensation around the ice pack when you have a fan inside so taking it out solved the problem. I have Heartfelt beads which recover quickly so this worked for me but may not work for you as I don't know if you have a fan or how well the kitty litter does with a cooling agent.
2. I put the icepack on top of the cooler and placed a towel over the top and everything has been perfect since. I didn't want to sacrifice the air circulation provided by the fan so this was the easiest fix.
Hope this helps.
:peace:

ATL

BoM 10/12, 9/13, & 8/14
Rating - 100%
342   0   0
I have two coolers, one with heartfelt and one with kitty litter. Both are perfect because I keep them in the basement. Where are you keeping yours?

ATL

BoM 10/12, 9/13, & 8/14
Rating - 100%
342   0   0
I live in a second story apt in southern cali, and it's starting to get in the 90's daily and when I'm not home I normally do not keep the AC on.