What's new

Wine Cooler Advice

Rating - 100%
15   0   0
Hello,

I am new to this, and I read a bit about the wine cooler conversion to humidor. But not that much.

Coincidentally, I was given as a gift today, the following:

cuisinart-cwc600-6-bottle-wine-cellar

I was hoping to get some adivice on converting it to a humidor.
It gets to 68% which is warmer than anywhere i can maintain my cigars for now. So thats a plus.

I don't have much to spend, but I was thinking I can purchase Cedar from soemwhere, and line the inside, shelves, and then use some boveda packs to manage humidty?

any thougths, advice?

Rating - 100%
7   0   0
If you're gonna store them in boxes, no need to line it. The boxes have enough cedar. If you're gonna store them naked, then shelves would be good. Get some beads, and you're all set.

Rating - 100%
15   0   0
Thanks for the quick reply's.

I did see some stuff on the avanti's and others, I was not sure if there were some issues or anything about cuisinart, since I did not find it mentioned. It's not very big is more likley the reason, but three deep shelves can store lot's of cigars at 68 degrees, so That should be good. I can't keep anything else in the house above 55 degrees most the time and that is making mainting the humidity difficult, keeps dropping.

I found my most succesful humidity control has come with a combination of beads in the box iwth some boveda packs. I was thinking for the coolidor, just to go with extra boveda packs. SOmething like 5 or 6 69% bags for the whole cooler. Maybe attaching a holder to the back, so the three levels each have 2 packs or something like that.

dpricenator

BoM March 08
Rating - 100%
175   0   3